uhd logo

UHD Foundation

Building a better future.

Healthcare Scholarship Awards for Area Seniors

The UHD Foundation values an educated workforce and encourages people pursuing careers in healthcare and a willingness to serve their community. The Foundation is offers $1,000 scholarships open to area high school seniors who have been accepted into an accredited academic program leading to a career in healthcare. Seniors from area schools are eligible: Blue Earth Area; Fairmont; Granada-Huntley-East Chain; Martin County West (Sherburn); Martin Luther (Northrup); North Iowa; North Union (Armstrong); and United South Central (Wells).


For the 2022-2023 school year, the Foundation received a total of 23 applications; all students were very high performers in academics, athletics, community service and volunteerism, and the arts. Recipients were selected using several considerations, including a desire to return and serve their home community after completing their degree and training. UHD representatives attended six senior awards events to present these recipients with their award certificates:

Blue Earth Area High School: Emma Ringness, Nursing & Health Science, Minnesota State University-Mankato; and Mya Steinhauer, Dietetics, Iowa State University.
Fairmont Jr/Sr High School: Taylor Madsen, Nursing BSN, Rasmussen, Mankato
Granada Huntley East Chain High School: Hayley Stensland, Exercise Science, Southwest Minnesota State University
Martin County West High School: Sydney Borntrager, Biomedical Science, Buena Vista University
Martin Luther High School: Jakob Fischer, Physical Therapy, University of Minnesota-Duluth
North Union High School: Brynn Tirevold, Radiology Technology, Iowa Central Community College.
United South Central High School: Ethan Koehler, Nursing, St. John’s University; and Molly Wegner, Surgical Technology, Southeast Technical College, Sioux Falls

The nine recipients were selected by the Scholarship Committee* of the UHD Foundation board, which is comprised of these community representatives and UHD board and staff members:

· Lars Bierly* – Blue Earth, MN
· Ronda Dahl, RN* – Elmore, MN
· Douglas Johanson – Winnebago, MN
· Aaron Johnson, MD – Blue Earth, MN
· Cory Milbrandt* – Blue Earth, MN
· Mark Warmka – Easton, MN
· Eric Wegner – Wells, MN (withdrew from voting)
· Rick Ash, UHD CEO
· Paula Kabe*, UHD Foundation Coordinator and Administration Executive Assistant

The Foundation intends to continue this scholarship program in the future. To learn more about the UHD Foundation or make a donation, visit the Foundation on, contact, or call 507-526-3273.

Click here for 2022 winners
UHD foundation 2022 archive 0007 Layer 1 

Alec Reutzel
Fairmont Jr/Sr High School

UHD foundation 2022 archive 0006 Layer 1 copy 

Callena Ferguson
Blue Earth Area High School

UHD foundation 2022 archive 0005 Layer 1 copy 2 

Carissa Saxton
Fairmont Area Jr/Sr High School

 UHD foundation 2022 archive 0004 Layer 1 copy 3

Kylie Rosenau
Blue Earth Area High School

 UHD foundation 2022 archive 0003 Layer 1 copy 4

Leah Kramersmeier
North Iowa High School

 UHD foundation 2022 archive 0002 Layer 1 copy 5

Merissa Cartwright
Granda Huntley East Chain High School

UHD foundation 2022 archive 0004 Layer 1 copy 3

Kylie Rosenau
North Union High School 

UHD foundation 2022 archive 0004 Layer 1 copy 3

Skylar Niebuhr
United South Central High School


For more information about the scholarship program and its eligibility requirements, or to donate to the scholarship fund, please contact the UHD Foundation at 507-526-3273. The online application form for the 2022-2023 school year is available here

Federal Tax ID Number: 45-4165628
This site is for information and education only. It is not intended as professional tax, legal, or accounting advice.
Please consult a qualified professional advisor for specific advice about the effect of any gift planning on your personal financial situation.